The work of the EMR is carried out by organs that meet international standards, including an Editorial Secretariat, an Editorial Committee, a Scientific Committee and a Publishing Director.

The Editorial Secretariat is responsible for receiving articles submitted for publication, making preliminary observations on the articles, and exchanging correspondence with the authors and other organs of the EMR. It is also responsible for forwarding the articles selected by the Editorial Committee to the Chairperson of the Scientific Committee for comment.

The duties of the Editorial Secretariat are currently performed by the Research and Partnerships Directorate.

The Editorial Committee of the EMR, which is chaired by the Director General of Economic and Monetary Affairs (DGEM) of the BCEAO, is tasked with defining the editorial policy of the EMR and its main scientific orientations. To this end, it assesses the consistency of the articles submitted for publication with its editorial line and selects the articles to be sent to the Scientific Committee for comment. The Editorial Committee is an internal organ of the Central Bank, and its membership is as follows:

  • The General Manager of the West African Center for Banking Studies and Training, Chairperson
  • The Director of Research and Partnerships
  • The Director of Statistics
  • The Director of Economic Conditions and Monetary Analysis
  • The Director of Financial Stability
  • The Director of Banking Activities and Alternative Financing
  • The Director of Economic Studies and Regional Integration
  • The Director of Teaching and Training Programs

The Editorial Committee meets when convened by its Chairperson.

The position of Publishing Director of the EMR is held by the Director of Research and Partnerships. He or she coordinates the various organs of the Economic and Monetary Review and assumes scientific responsibility for the articles published. He or she also oversees the organization and planning of each edition and convenes an evaluation and orientation meeting of the EMR at least once every two (2) years. The meeting is attended by the Chairperson of the Editorial Committee and the Chairperson of the Scientific Committee, accompanied by at least two (2) other members of the Scientific Committee.

The Scientific Committee is responsible for assessing the scientific value of all articles submitted for publication in the EMR. To ensure that its membership is in keeping with international standards, the Scientific Committee includes only members from outside the Central Bank, who are renowned academics and researchers, recognized for their expertise in the field of economics.

The members of the Scientific Committee act as reviewers of articles submitted for publication. However, the Scientific Committee may also call upon non-member reviewers to assess certain articles. Each article is examined by at least two (2) reviewers.

The Chairperson of the Scientific Committee is appointed by a decision of the Governor of the BCEAO for a renewable term of two (2) years.

The Chairperson is responsible for selecting reviewers for each article to be examined. He or she collects their written comments through a private consultation and submits them to the Publishing Director, along with his or her conclusions on the articles examined.

The Scientific Committee of the Review consists of professors appointed by decision of the BCEAO Governor. The current members are as follows: 

  • Professor Adama Diaw, Gaston Berger University, Saint-Louis, Senegal, Chairperson
  • Professor Mama Ouattara, Félix Houphouët-Boigny University, Côte d'Ivoire
  • Professor Idrissa Ouédraogo, Ouaga II University, Burkina Faso
  • Professor Nasser Ary Tanimoune, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Professor Charlemagne Babatoundé Igue, University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin
  • Professor Yaya Sissoko, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, United States of America
  • Professor Ahmadou Aly Mbaye, Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar, Senegal
  • Professor Issouf Soumaré, Université Laval, Canada
  • Professor Akoété Ega Agbodji, University of Lomé, Togo
  • Professor Jean-Paul Pollin, University of Orléans, France
  • Professor Georges Kobou, University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon